Ja, Doch: The Street Art Of German Small Towns

Hallo, meine Freunde!

Or as would my German friends say – hello, my friends! As you can guess, I’m not in USA right now, otherwise, why would I speak German to you, right?

I’m visiting in Germany right now, where I’ll be staying for the next 10 days. I’ll be visiting a lot of small towns around Gottingen, while staying in Lenglern, where my parents live now.

Lenglern is a very small town – the suburbs of a relatively large town – Gottingen, the home for the oldest universities Georg-August University (where my dad works and teaches), the University of Applied Sciences and Arts, and the private University of Göttingen – it’s a true student-faculty town, one of the ‘qualities’ I like about this place as it boosts with student (thus – affordable) bars and cafes, as well as the town lives and breaths with the biking culture. More than 26,000 students live in Gottingen, thus, there are always quite a few street arts – propaganda messages that the forward-thinking progressive youth would want to put out there, like this one:

Image

I also found their street art to be very outspoken and controversial, especially for a small town, which can unlikely be racist and nazist towards anyone. I’ve lived in this town and visited it so many times that I can’t believe my eyes when I see the flyers calling for anti-nazism action and support…Check them out and let me know what you think.

Last time I was in Europe – visiting Berlin and Stockholm last August, I’ve taken a note of the street art like graffiti, flyers, posters and other out-of-home promos, propaganda messages and advertisements. However, this time around I want to study them closely as I notice that the German ‘street art’ has a particular style – especially the ‘propaganda’ flyers and posters like anti-racism, anti-nazism, anti-sexism, anti-hate and etc. – they use the ‘punk-ish’ looking fonts/types and Bauhaus/Russian constructivism graphics/visuals. To make a note of that and see if anything changed between last summer and this summer – I took a walk around Gottingen to see what kind of street art I’d find this time. Here’s my finds:

What do you think?

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I’ll be also spending a day in Dusseldorf before I go back to New York City. One of the reasons I decided to visit Dusseldorf are the Dusseldorf Frank Gehry’s Buildings. Someone who’s interested in the graphic design would consider it a mistake to be passing by Dusseldorf and not taking advantage of the situation to see these unique architectural style. Wouldn’t you agree?

5 thoughts on “Ja, Doch: The Street Art Of German Small Towns

    • Yes. I’ve noticed that the street art in Germany is more outspoken, less filtered and censored.

  1. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thank you so much!

  2. Plan a budget for your wedding dress ahead of time, being sure to include a budget
    for alterations, pressing, and storage until your wedding day.

    If you can afford to purchase several of these items (even in today’s economy) try to mix things up.
    They will either offer you different design or refund your money and no questions asked.

  3. The DSL for Internet without phone service arena has actually heated up and you can turn to third
    party companies as well as your traditional telephone company.
    It has a sleek and slim appearance, making it fit perfectly within any room without becoming an eyesore.
    Corresponding to this is from Ovid consulting firm statistics: This year in January,
    accounted for Internet TV.

Leave a Reply

