Awesome 8-Bit Art From Germany And Why German Designers Rock

The first time I visited Berlin, Germany, I was a young teenager and spent time with my parents visiting the historic places like The Berlin Wall – or what was left of it, The Brandenburg Gate and such, but last August I re-visited Berlin as an adult and was able to see the parts of the city that define today’s Berlin – the graffiti, the Bauhaus museum, etc. It was a real treat for someone like me, who is not only interested in the graphic design, but who is interested in the modern art and Bauhaus school of design. You can learn more about my trip here.

I’ve been a big fan of the German designers for a long time. There are a few of them that I follow on Twitter and/or subscribe to their newsletters, like Tristan Schmitz Identitat, who is now, by the way, a senior graphic designer for the NYC design firm, Chermyeff & Geismar. Geismar’s known by the visual identity of the Chase bank manhattan, National Geographic, NBC, or MoMA, the founder of which I’ve met last year at the Designers & Books Fair 2012, along with the other distinguished designers of our time:  Elaine Lustig Cohen (Graphic Designer and Artist, New York), Hilary Greenbaum (Graphic Designer, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York), and Prem Krishnamurthy (Graphic Designer, Project Projects, New York).

My other favorite from Germany is Büro Uebele. I was blown away by the redesign of the townhouse that the founder of Büro Uebele, Andreas Uebele, did.

Interior design by Andreas Uebele, the founder of Büro Uebele design firm

Interior design by Andreas Uebele, the founder of Büro Uebele design firm

You can see it here. It’s also a perfect example of the German minimalism. (I’ll be soon posting the photos from my Berlin findings on graffiti/street art and minimalism.

It’s like, once a designer, always a designer.

Any time I come around a design work by German artists, I take a note, as I did, when I rode my bike around Berlin and saw some of the most interesting, intriguing and beautiful graffiti I’ve ever seen anywhere.

So, what is 8-Bit Art?

Fueled by Berlin’s dynamic art scene, eBoy creates intoxicatingly vivid, remarkably detailed 8-bit illustrations that blend the intensity of anime with the precision and humor of comic book illustration. Its latest collection includes extra large-scale prints—a fitting format for these thrilling, mind-boggling designs, of the worldwide metro cities.

Like this New York poster, which, by the way is already Sold Out (but Los Angeles, Tokyo and Paris are not!). I’m not surprised about it, because for the price of $17 that they are asking, I’d get it too! Actually, I want it now! It’d go perfect with my Soviet Constructivism posters. Here’s how the eBoy designers describe their posters:

Manhattan by eBoy

Manhattan by eBoy

“It’s Manhattan…but not! The flavor of the Vertical City is distilled, remixed, and set free in the wild, anime-inspired New York by the Berlin-based digital design collective, eBoy. In a style that feels like a mad combination of Where’s Waldo and Akira, eBoy creates an 8-bit visual narrative in which the depicted actions provide both comic relief and subtle social criticism. This extra-large digital print—measuring 47” wide and 33” in height—is a spectacular format for taking in such intricate illustration work”.

Or like this Paris poster:

Paris by eBoy

Paris by eBoy

“It’s all about being creative and offering to the public something that they’ve never seen before at all and/or something of a variation of something that they strongly identify themselves with”.

I’ll be talking more about the German art and designers. Stick around!

Leave a Reply

