Naked Decor: It looks so simple to design, it’s crazy

Last summer I spent a few days in Stockholm, which was an absolutely delightful treat of everything minimalistic. If you are one of those, like me, who appreciates and acknowledges the minimalistic design, you should definitely visit three places – Stockholm, Berlin and Tokyo. For more on my discoveries of the Swedish minimalism, click here.

From my daily fav reads like The Wallpaper and Fab – and many other places online and offline – I came about every day. I’ll be sharing with you my daily finds as well.

Here’s a collection of from the Naked Decor, designed by Supon Phornirunlit, who started his very first individual business at 25. Something to inspire by, something to think about – what’s your age to start your own business? I’m now thinking…

Here’s some of my picks from the Naked Decor collection:

ImageImageImage

Have I’ve mentioned that some of their works remind me of Paula Scher’s work, like this Typography Cat Pillow. It reminds me of Scher’s poster for the film “27 Dresses” and the posters she designed for the NYC’s Public Theatre, which she’s been designing for them for years.

This reminds me of the quote by Aaron Russell:

Every designers’ dirty little secret is that they copy other designers’ work. They see work they like, and they imitate it. Rather cheekily, they call this inspiration.

This might be true then, isn’t it? I actually often turn to the greatest of the greatest for the inspiration. Do you?

P.S. Yes, I’m now stalking him, by that I mean to say – I’m following him on Twitter and you could do the same.

 

Leave a Reply

